Accurate Wine Appraisal

Another approach to wine evaluation

There are several ways to evaluate a wine. Most of these assessments are based on points which award wines in proportion to numerical scores. Wine tasters aim to numeral wines systematically according to a sensory analysis. Vice versa a wine scores points for its appearance, intensity of colour, smell, taste and aromatic persistence.

Throughout the years the industry has canonized the employed terminology employed to review a wine with the apparent intention of making it easier for professionals to formulate their standardized evaluations. A benchmarked rank for a measured and criteriarized product, that seems to be undergoing its worst metamorphosis in terms of public relations. I have already revealed my disregard towards this illogical and incoherent method in a former though Spanish written post. However today I would like to take it up again, far and foremost because I have stumbled over Hugh Johnson’s witty approach to wine evaluation. Hence Johnson’s suggests a measure that appraises wine in a less pretentious way compared to Parker and co.

On a scale from 1 to 10 Hugh Johnson proposes the following:

1) vino que con olerlo tengo más que suficiente / wine that I reject because of its smell

2) vino de un solo sorbo / wine of one sip

3) vino del que me bebería una copa /wine of which I would drink a glass

4) vino del que me bebería dos copas / wine of which I would drink two glasses

5) vino del que me bebería media botella / wine of which I would drink half a bottle

6) vino del que me bebería una botella / wine of which I would drink the whole bottle

7) vino del que me bebería varias botellas / wine of which I would drink more than one bottle

vino del que me bebería una caja / wine of which I would drink a case

9) vino del que me bebería un pallet / wine of which I would drink a pallet

10) y así sucesivamente hasta llegar al vino del que me bebería el viñedo entero / And so on until reaching the wine of which I would drink the whole vineyard

What do you think of such a review? I consider it less harmful and less damaging than the numerical rating system.

It’s easier for us human beings to remember that 92 points went to wine X than to remember of which wine one would drink one and of which two bottles but then again is this what it is all about? Prices, top lists, medals, megalomania?

Have we somehow, somewhere and someway lost track of “an uncorked life”? Wine and the concept of a cultural acquisition seem to be loosing ground while the winemakers megalomania, a totalitarian hegemony, is moving into the foreground of a pseudo modernized school instituting itself in the old world.

Further reading A Life Uncorked, Hugh Johnson

Comments
One Response to “Accurate Wine Appraisal”
  1. Fabio dice:

    I like it, I like it!!! that alternative system is much more human. The parker-points thing is just for commercial vested interests and attempts to rationalize and anal-ize irrational, emotional human sensations.

Responder

