This Christmas

It didn’t happen until today that I got to feel the merry spirit! Throughout the past weeks none of the insinuating Xmas allegories managed to get me into the mood even though the festive attitude already evolved out of its prevailing pattern by the beginning of November. I couldn’t feel more regardless towards the gradual attack of promising bubbles than to any other suggestive event. An odd discrepancy towards the most loved and loathed period of all for I can affirm that if it wasn’t for the songs, the food and the wine I would have not felt the Xmas spell on me by now.

In Germany, people get together as soon as the Christmas market opens as there is nothing as exiting and as fulfilling as a friends gathering on one of the mulled wine stands. Wrapped in thick winter clothes and surrounded by a cloud of hot steam coming from the cauldron no one minds the cold. Hence for me it used to be the smell, the well prepared Glühwein, the Xmas candies and the winter cold that made the atmosphere and eventually got me into the merry mood. In Barcelona we have small markets equally crowded though but less inspiring however since inspiration is up to oneself and mulled wine is served here too after all the size doesn’t matter. It takes a bit longer to feel jolly but it does strike in the end.

Talking about mulled wine, Glüwein or what I have been drinking here most; Swedish Glögg I can recommend Café Suec in Gracia where you get it served the traditional way with nuts, raisins and ginger biscuits. For me, the most stirring Christmas suggestion since the Christmas market I used to enjoy so much. When you prefer to drink Glögg at home you can get it in Ikea or you make your own Glühwein and add the complements yourself as follows:

There are as many variations how to make Glühwein as there is wine so I picked the most classic one:

  • 1 bottle good red wine
  • 0,5 l water
  • 250 ml Port wine
  • 6 cloves
  • 3-4 berries clove pepper
  • 1 stick cinnamon
  • 2 tea spoons sugar
  • 1 lemon slice
  • Optional 1 orange slice
  • Optional raisins and nuts
  1. Boil the spices in water and then let boil on low fire during 20 minutes
  2. Remove the spices through a strainer and add the wine
  3. Add the port wine and the sugar and stir
  4. Heat thoroughly, but do not allow boiling!
  5. Decorate with lemon or orange and serve with raisins and nuts

Merry Christmas – Feliz Navidad – Frohe Weihnachten

Comments
17 Responses to “This Christmas”
  1. Shannon dice:

    Love your blogs Barbara! Merry christmas to all of you

    Shannon Russell

  2. Feliz Navidad, merry christmas Shannon, hope you are pampering yourself with some good wine?!

    Barbara

  3. xavi dice:

    Bon Nadal Barbara, and all bloggers!!
    Por fin escribo algo en el blog…
    Te deseo que pases feliz día, y que comas y bebas mucho (sin pasarse, eh?) que yo haré lo mismo.
    Saludos!

    xavi

  4. Bon Nadal! Yes por fin, pero mejor tarde que nunca!
    Que disfrutes de las fiestas (je je sin pasarse que lunes toca trabajar otra vez) – no te preocupes lo de los drinks lo tengo controlado igual que tu😉

    Saludos!

    Barbara

  5. hello there and thank you for your information – I have definitely picked up anything new from right
    here. I did however expertise some technical points
    using this website, as I experienced to reload the site many times
    previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK?
    Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will
    often affect your placement in google and can damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with
    Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my email and could look out for a lot more of your respective exciting content. Make sure you update this again very soon.

  6. You’re so interesting! I don’t think I have read something like that before.
    So nice to discover someone with a few genuine thoughts
    on this topic. Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up.
    This website is something that is needed on the web, someone with
    some originality!

  7. Shelley dice:

    Incredible points. Great arguments. Keep up the good effort.

  8. Usually I do not learn article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to check out
    and do so! Your writing taste has been surprised me.

    Thank you, very nice post.

  9. It’s going to be end of mine day, but before ending I am reading this enormous paragraph to increase my knowledge.

  10. Isabella dice:

    Great blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little
    lost on everything. Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or
    go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Thanks!

  11. What’s up i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anywhere, when i read this post i thought i could also make comment due to this good piece of writing.

  12. Celsa dice:

    Very nice write-up. I definitely appreciate this site.
    Keep writing!

  13. Marvin dice:

    Hello there! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with SEO?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m
    not seeing very good results. If you know of any please share.

    Appreciate it!

  14. I blog frequently and I really appreciate your information.
    This article has really peaked my interest.
    I am going to book mark your blog and keep checking for new details about once per week.
    I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

  15. Wolfgang dice:

    This piece of writing will help the internet viewers for
    creating new blog or even a blog from start to end.

  16. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s equally
    educative and interesting, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The problem is an issue that too few people are speaking intelligently
    about. Now i’m very happy I came across this in my search for something relating to this.

  17. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a friend who has been doing a little research on this. And he in fact bought me breakfast simply because I found it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending some time to talk about this topic here on your web site.

Responder

